For those of you who are a bit behind in the news, Facebook has changed their Terms of Service as reported by the Consumerist. These changes stated that not only does Facebook own all your information and content you upload (Pictures, blog posts etc) but they can keep it FOREVER even if you remove your account.
This change has created GIANT ripples throughout the intertubes, causing Facebook to recoil and revert to their old TOS. Even Mark Zuckerberg had to weigh in to try to calm the masses. This of course didn’t work so well as people started leaving Facebook which prompted them to add this to the “Delete Your Account” Page:
It’s still up in the air whether I’ll decide to leave myself. It’s nice to be able to stay in contact with others but it’s not worth my information being used for uses I may not agree with. Not to mention ANY pictures of me, including ones other people upload become the property of Facebook forever. I’m still not sure how to prevent this, unless it’s already against current privacy or copyright laws.